Become a Fitness Cheapskate

It drives me crazy when people say they don’t have the money to get in shape – then don’t spend money on stuff you don’t need! People ask me all the time what I do to get my arm definition and the only weights I have at my apartment are some hand-me-down ankle weights and a pair of 5 lb dumbbells. ANYONE CAN AFFORD THAT. And if you really can’t, then make a pair of hand weights with a plastic bag and whatever you can find to fill it.

My advice is to save the money you would spend on a gym membership and use it on a class once in a while. It’s always fun to mix up your routine anyway so that you don’t get bored. Also, don’t try to accumulate all of the machines and weights you think you need for a home gym all at once – set up goals to earn them. For instance, after Christmas shopping I ended up with $100 Kohl’s Cash. For those of you that don’t know what that is, it is basically free in-store cash that you earn for shopping at Kohl’s. Anyway, I told myself that if I cleaned and organized under my bed, I could use that money to buy new exercise equipment. Now I am getting two 10 lb weights, two resistance bands, and a 15 lb kettle bell delivered to my apartment for 90 cents! You can’t beat that.

Leave a Reply

